A child

I am in total amazement that my disfunctional body grew a baby. With so many uncertainties from the conception, and my body already having lost so much function, it truly feels like the womb and nervous system operate entirely separately.

The caesarean went well (the hardest part being holding my body in position for the epidural). I tentatively waited for an MS flare post birth, but the few days of blurred vision seemed to be all, with my Tysabri infusion following two weeks later. Doctors are shrugging their shoulders at months of bowel disturbances since – which usually means it’s MS. But on the whole, we were expecting worse.

The last three months with a newborn have been hard, but I don’t think it’s easy for any new mum, and my six months of planning with social services for maternity care has come good.

Plenty of challenges ahead for sure, but a rare appreciation of what my body has done.

6 thoughts on “A child

  1. Frarnie February 12, 2024 / 9:19 pm

    Congratulations and well done!

    Like

  2. Jenn February 12, 2024 / 10:38 pm

    Beautiful! Glad it went well. Wishing your family all the best!

    Like

  3. Sue Wright February 13, 2024 / 7:34 am

    Congratulations I’m really happy for you xxx

    Like

Leave a comment